Learning about this rule was very exciting because it means a game could conceivably end with a 1-0 score. Look out, Vegas. I’m coming for ALL of your money.
Here’s Fiesta Bowl referee Ron Cherry breaking down the bizarre play and explaining it to us like we’re a bunch of four-year-olds.
Shortly after this happened, ESPN announcer Brad Nessler mentioned that he’d seen a similar situation in his travels.
Internet sleuths sniffed out that instance, which took place in a 2004 Texas-Texas A&M game.
Nessler, you sly dog. That’s like winning the lottery twice. Some guys have all the luck.
[H/T: Huffington Post]