Here's something we missed with the Olympics taking up our attention over the weekend: This crazy, unfortunate way to end a regional Little League World Series qualifying game.
On Saturday, the Little League team from Petaluma, California took on Nanakuli, Hawaii's squad for a chance to advance to Williamsport. The Hawaiian team rallied late in the sixth (and final) inning, knocking in two runs with two outs left to cut the Northern California lead to 7-6.
But there was a problem: The Northern California third baseman said the last runner didn't touch the bag. In the video, you can hear his coach tell the kid to appeal the call. He does, and the umpire amazingly calls him out, ending the game and sending the Californians to the Little League World Series.
It's really, really tough to justify an ump making a call like this to end a game that 12-year-olds are playing. It's also almost impossible to see whether he did in fact not touch the bag. The video evidence is inconclusive, and if you blow up the video and see if his foot hit, as Deadspin's Timothy Burke did, it's still very hard to tell.
What do you think?